Building a blog to share your #100daysofcode

Photo by Bram Naus on Unsplash

Building a blog to share your #100daysofcode

How to get started writing a blog to make your #100daysofcode experience even better

ยท

4 min read

Introduction

Hello everyone, my name is Lorenzo and I'm just starting my hashnode adventure.

I decided to start with this post because it seemed fitting of the role a first-timer's post should have (well, at least in my mind!).

But putting aside very long paragraphs, I'd like to thank you all first and foremost, because if you are reading this you are probably participating or very interested in the #100daysofcode challenge and that, my friends, make you a really amazing bunch! Hurray!

amazing.gif

So I thought I'd do the same and follow up on my talking by not being just on ๐Ÿฆ Twitter but also sharing my path to learning new technologies and how I feel about the tech world.

Before diving into this discussion, I would like list a few places where you can find me:

What is #100daysofcode

As the name implies, #100daysofcode is a coding challenge open to everyone, whenever and wherever you are in the world ๐Ÿ—บ

Having no boundaries whatsoever, it makes it possible for people of any background to either get started in the tech community or grow even more if they are already a part of it!

Don't get it wrong tho, it's not all about those 100 days but they are definitely useful to build up momentum and pick up new skills along the way.

longhaul.gif

Pretty much like in the movie "The Fight Club" there are only two rules one must abide to, and those would be:

  • Code minimum an hour every day for the next 100 days.
  • Tweet your progress every day with the #100DaysOfCode hashtag.

The idea is as simple as it is powerful! You, the amazing person you are, are committing to do something everyday for the next 100 days and you are doing that something not for somebody else, but for your very self and for your own wonderful growth.

What to build for #100daysofcode challenge

There's no precise answer to that so I'd go with the whatever seems fun to you and makes you happy but I get it, if you are a beginner it can definitely look intimidating to start something from scratch without the faintest idea of what to do and where to go from there.

(I guess that might also be why you are reading this article ๐Ÿค—, but don't worry, I've got your back!)

There are oh so many websites and articles, just like this one โ˜๏ธ, entertaining new comers with hundreds of projects ideas but If I may, I should probably come out and say it out loud:

I was once taught - โ€œEveryone has good ideas, not many of them get built! ๐Ÿ˜Œโ€

So my 50 cents on this subject is that you should probably scout the Internet for beginners' projects but you should also allow yourself to not get overwhelmed by the amount of information that you are going to discover.

Take it slow, one step at a time.

marathon.gif

It's a marathon, not a sprint.

Remember that you are human, remember that you are worth it and you can do it.

Now that we hopefully believe in ourselves let's get a few ideas out in the wild:

  1. Your own personal website
  2. A website for your local community
  3. A script to automate whatever makes you bored
  4. Use visual representations for simple ideas (make a game for a simple javascript counter! Use your imagination!)
  5. Stop watching Youtube tutorials and get your hands dirty with coding!

Goodbye

This was my first blog post on this platform and I hope you enjoyed it and had fun reading it. Hopefully you also got a few takeaways and are building up your strategy and momentum to enjoy #100daysofcode challenge even further ๐Ÿ˜

As for me, I will keep on writing content on my personal blog and here on Hashnode!

If you want to reach out, check out the links in the introduction or my hashnode profile. Also, if you feel like starting a discussion to study things together or just have a talk, check out my Github Community Repo and start a conversation there!

Happy hacking and have fun!

ย